About the Post

Author Information

Live the life you love; love the life you live! Many things make me smile....and then I write about them.

Awareness and Appreciation, Part 2


Valentine's day Sunrise 2011

Since posting Awareness and Appreciation, Part 1, my senses have been on over-drive. I observe so many people who seem checked out. Unaware. Defensive. Unhappy. Self-righteous. Deceiving themselves. My prayer for the world is that we  all come to find true internal peace, and to be radiant examples of what it means to be the best versions of ourselves.

I’ve had to check myself  to be sure I’m not being judgmental of others. I feel that I am only now able to “see” these challenges in people around me because I’ve been there myself. We all have our struggles. And we’re all in a different phase of our own journey towards our best self.

What keeps us from being amazing? Why do some people sit in the muck of indifference and defeat?

So often I want to shout these words from Marianne Williamson:

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small doesn’t serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It is not just in some of us, it is in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.

What if you and I and three of our closest friends would truly live by this simple passage? We would be surrounded by such inspiration, such positivity, such potential. And that enthusiasm would be infectious.

This week I challenge you to continue evaluating your own self, but also to reach out to someone else who needs to see and feel your radiant beacon of strength. Of course you have weaknesses and struggles. You always will. But you also have great strength where someone else is lacking. Share that strength this week. And don’t be afraid to ask for someone else’s support to help where you are weak.

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Comments on “Awareness and Appreciation, Part 2”

  1. Laura February 7, 2012 at 10:07 am #

    Love it, just what I needed to read this morning. Thanks!

  2. 7theaven February 7, 2012 at 10:13 am #

    Hmm, nice post. Was nice reading it.

    • Butterfly February 7, 2012 at 10:30 am #

      Thank you. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

