About the Post

Author Information

Live the life you love; love the life you live! Many things make me smile....and then I write about them.

When Life Gives you Lemons, Make …Smoothies?


Surprises are fun, but the anticipation kills me. Long term goals are nice, but I want to reach them now. Budgeting is necessary, but dangit if I have to save up to afford a nice purchase. See a trend here?

The latest obsession (and I don’t use that word lightly) in this household is a nearly 400-dollar juicer. We’ve been watching YouTube videos and reading reviews and absolutely geeking out on juicers for the past 6 months. The frenzy has been made all the worse after watching Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead last night.

Admittedly, I tend to have champagne taste on a beer budget. I refuse to invest in sub-par products, essentially wasting the money I am saving for the real deal. Which is exactly why I have developed a keen knack for finding thrift store gems until the money fairies locate me.

To satisfy my thirst for a carrot-apple-lemon-ginger-leafy greens juice today, I made a smoothie. Another smoothie. I know it’s probably better than juice because it has all the fiber, but sometimes I just want a fresh pressed juice.

I am pleased to report that I incorporated a never-been-smoothed-before addition to today’s concoction: butternut squash. I  baked up a bunch of squash the other night, but hadn’t actually used the purée yet (probably because I have an inexplicable aversion to squash and am only now delving into unique ways of tricking myself into eating the stuff).

Smoothie du Jour:

  • 4 stalks ~ collard greens
  • a big huge dollop ~ butternut squash purée
  • liquid to taste ~ orange juice, a splash of milk, and coconut water
  • small handful ~ chia seeds
  • large handful ~ frozen fruits (peaches, cherries, strawberries)
  • 1 scoop ~ protein powder
  • large sprinkling ~ love
The Makings of a Butternut-Inspired Smoothie

The Makings of a Butternut-Inspired Smoothie

What do you do with butternut squash?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments on “When Life Gives you Lemons, Make …Smoothies?”

  1. Laura January 7, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    I have a delicious roasted butt squash orzo recipe I’ll share with you when I find it….yummo!

  2. 7theaven February 7, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    LOL @ post title

Leave a Reply

